Bo Wahlberg and his PhD student Linnea Persson.

As the only Swede – Professor Bo Wahlberg has been elevated to the rank of Fellow in the International Federation for Automatic Control (IFAC). A prestigious award only given every third year. Among the 25 new Fellows is also Professor Claire Tomlin, member of the WASP International Scientific Advisory Board.

Bo Wahlberg (DCS/EECS/KTH) is a co-founder and a member of the program management of WASP. For the new Fellowship the citation reads, “For contributions to system identification and the development of orthonormal basis function models.” He will receive a certificate and pin at the 2020 IFAC World Congress in Berlin.

Outstanding and extraordinary contributions

The International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC) is concerned with automatic control and its representation in the fields of engineering, science and the impact of control technology on society. The IFAC Fellow Award “is given to persons who have made outstanding and extraordinary contributions in the field of interest of IFAC, in the role as an engineer/scientist, technical leader, or educator.”

Bo Wahlberg is since 1991 Professor of the Chair of Automatic Control at KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden. He is a 2007 IEEE Fellow for his scientific contributions and impact. Dr. Wahlberg is a co-founder of Centre of Autonomous Systems and the Linnaeus Center ACCESS on networked systems at KTH.

Dr. Wahlberg has in his record several awards, including the IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering Best New Application Paper Award in 2016. He is the author of over 200 scientific publications and has been the supervisor of more than 120 master’s students and 20 PhD students.

Published: October 4th, 2019

Latest news

We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. View more
Cookies settings
Privacy & Cookie policy
Privacy & Cookies policy
Cookie name Active
The WASP website uses cookies. Cookies are small text files that are stored on a visitor’s computer and can be used to follow the visitor’s actions on the website. There are two types of cookie:
  • permanent cookies, which remain on a visitor’s computer for a certain, pre-determined duration,
  • session cookies, which are stored temporarily in the computer memory during the period under which a visitor views the website. Session cookies disappear when the visitor closes the web browser.
Permanent cookies are used to store any personal settings that are used. If you do not want cookies to be used, you can switch them off in the security settings of the web browser. It is also possible to set the security of the web browser such that the computer asks you each time a website wants to store a cookie on your computer. The web browser can also delete previously stored cookies: the help function for the web browser contains more information about this. The Swedish Post and Telecom Authority is the supervisory authority in this field. It provides further information about cookies on its website,
Save settings
Cookies settings